5 Comments

Part 2 distinguished the novel from other true crime fiction. Jayson & Cece captured my heart. I’ve imagined their lives beyond the page, the effect I would seek as an author.

Expand full comment

I’m just finishing Part 2 & had to stop after reading this sentiment from Jackie:

“The most terrible thing about being a mother, is knowing that your children will love you, no matter.”

OOOOOOF. Also ouch.

Expand full comment

Of course Jackie regrets blowing up her family; her whole world disintegrated around her, until she had nothing left. But she had to figure out how to put one foot in front of the other and keep going. I would have liked to know a bit more detail around whether or not her eating and self image issues balanced out later in her life. I wanted to get deeper inside her head in these later pages to understand what she was thinking, but I still felt at a distance. We got deeper into CeCe and Jayson’s state of mind.

Expand full comment

I’m not sure Jackie regrets what she has done. It was so unbelievably sad all the hell that poor family went through. And the father just walking away. My question is will cece and Jayson get back together. He says I will see you soon ,,,,,

Expand full comment