14 Comments
Dec 19, 2023·edited Dec 19, 2023

It’s notable that the happiest scenes in the book are the times when Jackie and Theresa would stop for food on the way home from the weight loss class. These seemed to be the truest moments of their friendship - they had done something vulnerable together and then would reward themselves with a little treat. They felt free!

The fact that Jackie went to such an extreme with her weight loss seemed like a symptom of how deeply unhappy she was. Had she or Nick flagged that their relationship was failing/flailing, and used that time to do couples therapy, or just to talk and hear each others needs, the tragedy with Theresa might not have happened. Instead they let each other slip further and further away. We see them noticing that they are drifting apart and losing touch with one another but they simply don’t know how to stop and do something about it.

As Jackie’s weight loss continues, she grows hungrier, and that hunger becomes insatiable. Everything that unfolded happened because she was trying to feed the void within her with something other than food. As her new, thinner body emerged, her vanity increased, and so did the male attention she received. That became addictive and in turn gave her a deeper sexual appetite that was imposible to satiate. All through the book she is just trying to be seen. I wish someone in her life (Theresa, or one of her sons) had sat her down and encouraged her to eat a hearty meal. A person can’t deny themselves sustenance indefinitely without psychological consequences.

I think the observation that lingers with me from this book is how deeply unfulfilled Jackie was in the “devoted mother” role. It encapsulated the deep fear I have of motherhood and reminded me of how unhappy my own mother seemed when my sister and I were growing up in the 80s and 90s. Ultimately Hot Springs Drive made me realize how damaging and toxic unexamined sadness can be, and how it can reveal itself in unexpected ways. That sadness and then the subsequent weight loss corrupted Jackie’s whole life, and her family’s too in the end. I’m looking forward to hearing the author talk about these elements, as they resonated with me in unexpected ways that still haunt me weeks after I finished the last pages of the book.

Expand full comment

I loved ready about how Jackie became more and more attractive to men as she got thinner and thinner and this made her more confident which she was clearly willing to trade in for her health. The way that society rewards the thin (which exclude many especially Black women) is fascinating. It reminded me of a Summer in 2007 when I was really ill but did not know it and went down to a UK 14 (US 10). Men started to hold doors and pull out chairs and really look at me it was the weirdest thing (like the time I went Blonde). That kind of adoration and special attention is quite intoxicating. It would be hard for Jackie to give up that power. I would rather be a better, healthier person. I lost the attention when was healed and went back to a natural UK 18 (US 16). It was like poof I was invisible again. It was interesting to see Jackie seduced by that power and want it so bad that she would literally watch people eat rather than eat herself.

Expand full comment

My real name is Nancy Binford. I’m not afraid to tell this group my name, but I was advised to have a separate moniker for my other Substack commentary!

Expand full comment

I loved the book. Loved the imagery and characters. Loved the chapters from each character’s point of view. Loved the riveting story.

My question for Lindsay is, how did you decide to craft the narrative to end with the neurodivergent character as the murderer instead of one of the cheaters? There must be a symbolic reason for the choice.

I look forward to the discussion tomorrow. We’ll be in Austin listening!

Expand full comment

Great book. Great conversation.

Expand full comment

I am going to need to have the ending explained to me. I have listened to it four times now. Apologies in advance for not getting it.

Expand full comment

I am missing the audio option on your Substack. Which is very sad because I can’t read as a result of surgery I am still recovering from, and I only subscribe to Substack that I can listen to. Will that option be returning?

Expand full comment