15 Comments

To me, this novel feels like a guide for how to survive grief. But I didn’t become aware of that until the very end.

Some gorgeous passages that stood out to me from the last part of the book include:

Roya’s description of her and Leila’s first kiss was so accurate, so real! “I felt dizzy again from aliveness; flush with baffle and excitement, like the first person to taste snow.” And later also about Leila “a yearning so strong it bends you, buckles you, like waves or miracles.”

Orkideh’s quote in the museum gift shop “art is where what we survive survives” feels big.

Cyrus’ realization that his whole life is a series of people helping him and teaching him is a massive leap forward in his self awareness and maturity. That passage when he recovers after fainting is brilliant.

Orkideh mic drop moment towards the end: “We spend our lives trying to figure out how to pay back the debt of being. And to whom we might pay it.”

Later, reflecting on her painting, she describes the giddy high from “making something that never would have existed in the entirety of humanity had I not been there at that specific moment to make it.” What an incentive to create!

There’s that beautiful moment of sacred silence between Sang and Cyrus.

And finally, Cyrus and Zee’s reconciliation. “Love was a room that appeared when you stepped into it. Cyrus understood that now and stepped.”

As you can see, I loved this book so thoroughly! Sorry for taking up so much space. I’m eager to hear other reader’s favorite parts.

Expand full comment

I'm so curious if the last section of the book in the park was really one of Cyrus' dream conversations or really happened!

Expand full comment

A few favorites

- The entire AA meeting and Cyrus coffee with Gabe his sponsor was completely 100% brilliant.

- From Orkideh's obit: "When I say nations, I mean armed marketplaces - always. That understanding made the world a little bit easier to comprehend if not tolerate."

"I demand to be forgiven. I demand the same leniencies, rationalizations granted to mediocre men for centuries."

Expand full comment

That last sequence in the park(dream?) so beautiful. Kaveh can really write into the soft and precious beauty and he does so so beautifully in this book. I was sad it was over but I’m excited to reread it.

Expand full comment

How can I rewatch your book club interview with Kaveh?

Expand full comment

Currently reading this book now! I’m obsessed! Love it!

Expand full comment

Been looking for a sign to start this book and now I've found it!

Expand full comment

“Good person drag” was 💯

Also, “death is their job; dying is yours” should be the tagline for cigarette manufacturers. Or the military.

Expand full comment

First of all, I thought that Orkideh was going to be Leila, so how beautiful and heart breaking that she was Cyrus' mom. Some phrases that stood out to me:

"Why would you want to show your life boat to strangers?" -p289. I guess this about the importance of creating art for ones own sake rather than for public consumption, money, or praise.

"Making something that would never have existed in the entirety of humanity had I not been there at that specific moment to make it" -p290

In a very concrete sense, there are so many pieces of art work and literature and music that also inform about the time in which they were made. And they can speak in deeper sometimes more honest ways than history books can.

Last thought, do you have to sacrifice your whole life, sell it to three abyss (p291) to be a powerful and meaningful artist?

Expand full comment

Trying to reach your reading pace (I was late to the party). I'm close but not there yet. Hopefully by tomorrow! ;)

Expand full comment