18 Comments

For me, no moment or window of time is too small to practice my art. With a pencil and paper nearby there is always something to draw or doodle. And it’s more satisfying than picking up the phone. Just a few minutes of creative making can be energizing.

Expand full comment

I love that idea - make a bunch of art to show when the break comes (and figuring out what the big break looks like)! Nice to know that what was instinctive over here as a writer is being lived out by others. Never alone! I write about developing a "relational reading practice" (basically who you read informs who you become in and beyond the educational space) with my grad students...so in many ways my art = making links. Thanks for making the space here to share!

Expand full comment

I came to know Akbar's work as a poet, first (well, that was after he was already doing great work interviewing and promoting other poets for DiveDapper). I would like to know what was hard/the hardest for him in crafting a novel since he has written/focused on making such extraordinary lyric poems for a pretty long while.

Expand full comment

How do you incorporate writing about recovery, culture and the oppressive conditions underlying addictions? Too often, the oppressive conditions underlying addiction are ignored by many recovery programs? Also how do you begin to write about the intersection of personal responsibility and oppressive conditions in just living life?

Expand full comment

I know this isn't always the most fair question, but I am interested in hearing about choice of genre especially when a writer centers a character that is a writer. Would Akbar like us to see his book as autobiographical fiction? If so, what made him decide on fiction instead of memoir? To be clear, I love auto-fiction and see it filling an important role, but I find conversations around these choices rich and illuminating and helpful to other writers who are having to think through genre choice and which one might help them tell their story the best.

Expand full comment

I totally relate. For decades, I wrote when I'm happy, sad...I wrote about things I've seen, experienced, heard...then one day I wrote a book someone deemed good enough to publish last year. I have more to say for when someone is ready to listen/read more. Oh, I also do cross stitch needlework arts and frame them as gifts to my friends, and they're highly appreciated.

Expand full comment

I, too, love the idea of making a bunch of art so it is ready for when the time to share arrives. I try to remember to write about significant experiences, moments that touched me. But I often forget, often don’t make time. Then they’re lost, in some ways. Making time for art among the mundane requirements of life can be a struggle. My questions are…

1. How do you make time for your art, among the daily requirements of life?

2. What techniques do you use to validate/honor/remember your experiences, especially the uncomfortable parts that you’d might rather forget; and turn them into something connective, vulnerable, and literary expressions of release and beauty?

Expand full comment

Yes, Roya churning out work just because is inspiration. Creative goals: Just write just because I have to and I love to, to honor that hunger.

Kaveh!! Thank you for faithfully trading pages with your Tommy Orange and giving us this lush work of fiction. Your last chapter impressed me as a sort of tone poem of Psalm 51 and the lightness proceeding from Cyrus actually comprehending Miserere—his contrition, his relief and joy, the burning feet from a new world emerging (perhaps too literal a comparison on this reader’s part to the burnt offering in the Psalm?). Can you say more about the last chapter, in terms of what got you to that decision vs early attempts at denouement?

Expand full comment
founding

Recently I have just been doing random writing prompts. I try and stay on a topic but one day I'll write for 5 minutes and then 20 the next. I've been able to generate pages and pages without thinking about form so I can look back on all of it and come up with something when I'm ready.

Expand full comment

I just finished the book and was so surprised by the twist - what a wonderful read. Cannot wait for the chat.

I make beaded bracelets and earrings - my goal this year is to try a craft fair and see if they appeal to people who don't know me personally.

Expand full comment

Has he explored writing in Farsi? If yes, what has he written? If no, and he can't do it alone, what story would he tell that he would want translated into Farsi?

Expand full comment

I’d like to use my Substack page as a sort of journal at first and then expand it to post occasional essays. I’m reluctant to make any writing promises I can’t keep, but just throwing some words out there when the spirit moves is a pragmatic goal.

Expand full comment

I am a painter in my spare time, the last few years I have had more time to work but I struggle with keeping a long term focus. I often need a full half day to get into the work if it’s been a while. Roya’s story really spoke to an anxiety I have had about losing my art practice by having a child. But then I think about artists who have had children and made great work…

Anyway, I have loved reading this book, thank you so much for this discussion!

Expand full comment

I would love to hear Kaveh talk about his relationship with the concept of martyrdom, and what pulled him to explore it in the book. Is it as Orkideh says an “Iranian stereotype” he wanted to get into, is it tied a concept he is tying to recovery, or all that plus more?!

Looking forward to book club! 🔥

Expand full comment

I write things here and there all the time. Most recently, my iPhone added a “Journal” app, completely unsolicited by me. I’ve found it’s super handy. Pretty much wherever I am, I can pull out my phone and write in that journal when a thought comes.

I just finished the chapters of Roya talking about making art in every waking moment and of Cyrus meeting Sang. I have loved this book.

Expand full comment